Lewis at a Glance

Outstanding Academic Programs

Lewis University is a comprehensive Catholic university located southwest of Chicago, where the traditions of liberal learning, values, and preparation for professional work come together with a synergy that gives the University its educational identity and focus. Founded in 1932, Lewis is a dynamic, coeducational university offering more than 80 undergraduate majors and programs of study, more than 30 graduate programs, and 2 doctoral degrees. Lewis is one of many institutions sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers, an international Roman Catholic teaching order.

Experienced Faculty

Lewis has 200 full-time faculty members who take their students’ personal and professional success to heart. The greater majority hold terminal degrees in their fields. Many are experienced practitioners. The student/faculty ratio is 13:1.


Lewis University is accredited by, and a member of, the Higher Learning Commission. The College of Nursing and Health Professions’ basic professional program is approved by the State of Illinois Department of Professional Regulation. The baccalaureate/master's programs at Lewis University are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, One Dupont Circle, NW, Suite 530, Washington, DC 20036, (202) 887-6791. For more information visit the CCNE. The College of Business programs are accredited by the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs. Department of Aviation and Transportation Studies programs are approved by the Federal Aviation Administration under Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR): Approved Dispatcher Program, Approved Flight School, and Approved Aviation Maintenance Technician School. The Athletic Training Education Program is accredited by CAATE (Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education). The Social Work Program has been awarded initial accreditation through 2017 by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) Commission on Accreditation. All teacher education programs are approved for entitlement by the Illinois State Board of Education in conjunction with the Illinois State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board. In addition, the College of Education has earned NCATE (National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education) accreditation. For further information, visit the NCATE Web site at www.ncate.org. Inquiries concerning regional accreditation should be directed to the Higher Learning Commission, 230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, Illinois 60604. By phone, (800) 621-7440 or (312) 263-0456.

Lewis University has applied for provisional approval to operate from the New Mexico Higher Education Department.

Lewis University has applied for registration with the Maryland Higher Education Commission to offer online programs in the state.

Documents describing the status of Lewis University with these bodies can be found and reviewed in the Office of the Provost.

A Welcoming Campus

The Lewis main campus in Romeoville, Illinois, is a picturesque 410-acre setting which houses 1,300 students in 12 residence halls, all within walking distance of well- equipped classrooms, the library, the Student Recreation and Fitness Center, the Student Union, and Sancta Alberta Chapel. Lewis regional campuses are located in Oak Brook, Hickory Hills and Tinley Park. Additionally, classes are offered in Chicago at De La Salle Institute, and at numerous sites throughout the greater Chicagoland area. Adult undergraduate and graduate programs are offered in Albuquerque, N.M.


Lewis currently has more than 6,700 undergraduate and graduate students. Many are from the Chicago region with international students representing more than 20 different countries. Lewis welcomes students of all cultures and religious faiths. Students of color represent 30 percent of the student body, and approximately 60 percent of the student population is Roman Catholic.