Lewis at a Glance

Outstanding Academic Programs

Lewis University is a comprehensive Catholic university located 35 miles southwest of downtown Chicago, where the traditions of liberal learning, values, and preparation for professional work come together with a synergy that gives the University its educational identity and focus. Founded in 1932, Lewis is a dynamic, coeducational university offering more than 80 undergraduate majors and programs of study, 37 graduate programs, and 2 doctoral degrees. Lewis is one of many institutions sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers, an international Roman Catholic teaching order. Lewis University is accredited by, and a member of, the Higher Learning Commission.

Experienced Faculty

Lewis has 250 full-time faculty members who take their students’ personal and professional success to heart. The greater majority hold terminal degrees in their fields. Many are experienced practitioners. The student/faculty ratio is 13:1.

A Welcoming Campus

The Lewis main campus in Romeoville, Illinois, is a picturesque 410-acre setting which houses 1,200 students in 12 residence halls, all within walking distance of well-equipped classrooms, the library, the Student Recreation and Fitness Center, the Student Union, the Brother James Gaffney, FSC, Student Center, and Sancta Alberta Chapel. Students can also study in Oak Brook which is easily accessible to corporate offices in the suburbs. In 2009, a site was opened in Albuquerque, New Mexico to continue the Lasallian tradition of education in the Southwest. Lewis offers several degree programs online to allow students an option to learn when and where they wish.