Lewis at a Glance

Outstanding Academic Programs

Lewis University is a comprehensive Catholic university located southwest of Chicago, where the traditions of liberal learning, values, and preparation for professional work come together with a synergy that gives the University its educational identity and focus. Founded in 1932, Lewis is a dynamic, coeducational university offering more than 80 undergraduate majors and programs of study, 25 graduate programs, and certificates of advanced study. Lewis is one of many institutions sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers, an international Roman Catholic teaching order.

Experienced Faculty

Lewis has 200 full-time faculty members who take their students’ personal and professional success to heart. The greater majority hold terminal degrees in their fields. Many are experienced practitioners. The student/faculty ratio is 13:1.


Lewis University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association. The College of Nursing and Health Professions’ basic professional program is approved by the State of Illinois Department of Professional Regulation, and all nursing programs, graduate and undergraduate, are fully accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (One Dupont Circle, Washington, DC 20036). The College of Business programs are accredited by the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs. Department of Aviation and Transportation Studies programs are approved by the Federal Aviation Administration under Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR): Approved Dispatcher Program, Approved Flight School, and Approved Aviation Maintenance Technician School. The Athletic Training Education Program is accredited by CAATE (Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education). All teacher education programs are approved for entitlement by the Illinois State Board of Education in conjunction with the Illinois State Teacher Certification Board. In addition, the College of Education has earned NCATE (National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education) accreditation. For further information, visit the NCATE Web site at www.ncate.org. Inquiries concerning regional accreditation should be directed to the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, 230 South La Salle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, Illinois 60604. By phone, (800) 621-7440 or (312) 263-0456.

This institution is regulated by The Indiana Commission on Proprietary Education, 302 W. Washington Street, Room E 201, Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-2767. (800) 227-5695 or (317) 232-1320.

Lewis University is exempt from regulation by the New Mexico Higher Education Department by virtue of its status as an accredited institution by The Higher Learning Commission.

A Welcoming Campus

The Lewis main campus in Romeoville, Illinois, is a picturesque 376-acre setting which houses 1,300 students in 12 residence halls, all within walking distance of well- equipped classrooms, the library, the Student Recreation and Fitness Center, the Student Union, and Sancta Alberta Chapel. Lewis regional campuses are located in Oak Brook, Shorewood, Hickory Hills and Tinley Park. Additionally, classes are offered in Chicago at De La Salle Institute, and at numerous sites throughout the greater Chicagoland area. Adult undergraduate and graduate programs are offered in Albuquerque, N.M.


Lewis currently has nearly 6,500 undergraduate and graduate students. Many are from the Chicago region with international students representing more than 20 different countries. Lewis welcomes students of all cultures and religious faiths. Students of color represent 30 percent of the student body, and approximately 60 percent of the student population is Roman Catholic.