Lewis at a Glance

Outstanding Academic Programs

Lewis University is a comprehensive Catholic university located 35 miles southwest of downtown Chicago, where the traditions of liberal learning, values, and preparation for professional work come together with a synergy that gives the University its educational identity and focus. Founded in 1932, Lewis is a dynamic, coeducational university offering more than 80 undergraduate majors and programs of study, 37 graduate programs, and 2 doctoral degrees. Lewis is one of many institutions sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers, an international Roman Catholic teaching order.

Experienced Faculty

Lewis has 227 full-time faculty members who take their students’ personal and professional success to heart. The greater majority hold terminal degrees in their fields. Many are experienced practitioners. The student/faculty ratio is 13:1.

A Welcoming Campus

inThe Lewis main campus in Romeoville, Illinois, is a picturesque 410-acre setting which houses 1,300 students in 12 residence halls, all within walking distance of well-equipped classrooms, the library, the Student Recreation and Fitness Center, the Student Union, and Sancta Alberta Chapel. Lewis regional instructional locations are located in Oak Brook and Tinley Park. Additionally, classes are offered at numerous sites throughout the greater Chicagoland area. Adult undergraduate and graduate programs are offered in Albuquerque, New Mexico.


Lewis currently has nearly 6,500 undergraduate and graduate students. Many are from the Chicago region with international students representing 39 different countries. Lewis welcomes students of all cultures and religious faiths. Students of color represent 34 percent of the student body, and approximately 60 percent of the student population is Roman Catholic.