College of Arts and Sciences

The College of Arts and Sciences is central to Lewis University both historically and academically. It was the University’s first college and continues to provide the core curriculum for students in all four colleges. Majors are offered leading to degrees of Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science, and Bachelor of Elected Studies, as well as a number of pre-professional programs, the Associate of Science degree, and Airframe and Powerplant certificates in aviation. Master’s degree programs are offered in aviation and transportation, counseling psychology, criminal/social justice, information security, organizational leadership, public safety administration, and school counseling.

The College of Arts and Sciences has four comprehensive purposes: (1) to foster the intellectual life of the University through emphasis on critical thinking, open inquiry, precision in thought and expression, and study of a broad range of knowledge and human experience; (2) to give witness to the message of Christ, to inspire students to develop a sense of justice and fellowship, and to foster a concern for values by searching for truth and meaning through study of the religious dimension of the human experience; (3) to provide the basic knowledge, attitudes and skills that prepare students for a career and/or further study; and (4) to send forth graduates who understand the needs of individuals and society and who feel responsible for contributing to the betterment of both.

The College of Arts and Sciences is organized into departments and programs, offering majors, minors and concentrations. In this catalog, each major program is explained and its requirements specified. Course descriptions are provided. The department chairpersons or program directors can provide further explanations and information, as well as a recommended course of study.